Hating Halloween

I hate Halloween.  I know you probably think it is because of the scary ghost and goblins.  Well it actually has nothing to do with the costumes.  It has nothing to do with the spirits.  It has to do with the candy and the cookies and snacks that can go along with Halloween.

Almost every Halloween up until 5 or 6 years ago, I would go to the store buy bags and bags of candy.  Give out one or two of the bags and eat the rest.  I would do this almost every year.  When my kids were little… I probably ate half of their candy.

Even as upset as my stomach has been the last week, I wanted to eat snacks at work today.  My doctor told me I have a compulsive personality.  Not that I am addicted to anything, but that I have obsessive impulses.   So this year – we went out to eat and came home and turned off on the lights.  Not to miss out on my grandchildren’s costumes or to hurt anyone’s feelings.  It was to avoid the natural desire I have to consume candy that isn’t really in my new food program.

Romans 6:11-13

11 In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus. 12Therefore do not let sin reign in your mortal body so that you obey its evil desires. 13 Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life; and offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.

Now I know this… and I avoided the problem by not having it be in my pathway to sin.

Happy Halloween is just the beginning of the Holidays that will be about consuming and making large amounts of food and treats.

This year – I’ll settle on the Tricks and other gifts.  Not the food, candies and treats that can hurt my program.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Hating Halloween

  1. I hate Halloween also and very much. I am always so glad when the night of it is over. I live alone, and do no turn any lights on or answer the door if someone should still ring the doorbell. Normally, to open a door to a stranger is not a good thing, and yet on Halloween, it is supposed to be ok. It is not always sweet little kids….alot of times it is teenagers looking for nothing but trouble. I also do not like the spirit of Halloween in this day and time. There is my two cents. Thanks you for listening. I am also a christian lady who loves to share the word with others in many different ways.
    Sarah

    Like

    • My church has a trunk n treat, which is suppose to be an alternative to halloween. It also is suppose to help the community see our Church in a good light. I can not be certain, but I don’t think we have brought too many to Christ through this event. I hope we do, or at least plant a seed, but not sure. I do not participate.

      God bless, Cathy

      Like

  2. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossip and web stuff and this is really irritating. A good site with interesting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for making this web-site, and I’ll be visiting again. Do you do newsletters? I Can not find it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

