Maturing in Christ

 

 

 

Maturing in Christ?

How does someone grow and mature in Christ? What are the spiritual benefits of a mature Christian compared to an immature Christian? This subject is timely in the sense of the Bible study I am currently teaching on Finding Confidence and the next one on, Self-Worth. The society we live in thinks that right is wrong and wrong is right. It can be confusing for mature Christians as well as new baby Christians.
So how does someone grow and mature in Christ? The answer may be simple, but consistency is my first recommendation. Staying in the word is simple answer, but staying consistent in the word is another matter. Dedicating some time each day to the Scriptures becomes a struggle for some of us who work and run a household. It is not impossible though. I find that I talk to God throughout the day, but my time in the word is taken over by errands and yes – wasted energy on Facebook and games on Facebook. Then I realized I was broken and broken in my spiritual life – so I dedicated 10-15 minutes in the morning at work to read the scriptures and going to Bible Gateway (www.biblegateway.com) as often as I can. I also know that I have a dedication to members of my bible study to read the scriptures and prepare for my lessons.
Teaching the Bible study on confidence made me realize that God gives us confidence in him and in ourselves. He’ll give us more and more opportunities to test our confidence and gain more. This battle of time or no time for God is crazy. I am crazy to devote 2 or 3 hours of my day to Facebook and only 10 or 15 minutes to God! Crazy – almost beyond words!
I challenge everyone in the church to read their Bible 10% more this month.
Answer to the last question – What are the spiritual benefits of a mature Christian compared to an immature Christian? It is our confidence in God and our confidence in ourselves to take the Good News to the World. Mature Christians are balanced; they can take on challenges of the world and survive their trials and tribulations by trusting in God. We focus less on our selfish desires and more on the whole Body of Christ.

Amen.
Cathy Merritt

One thought on “Maturing in Christ

Leave a Reply

