Swimming

I felt like a fish in water today.  I joined a water aerobic class tonight.   I use to swim each and every day.  That was 2000.  I would swim at lunch and sometimes swim after work.  I swam over 100 miles, which for me was an accomplishment.  I even got a certificate to that affect.

This all was in the middle of my divorce.  I was also living out on the Ranch near the Naval Air Station, so I would sometimes walk the several miles to work and then ride my bike home.  I did this day in and day out for months and months.  I worked hard to get down to 180 something.  I wasn’t on any medication except my thyroid medication.

Then – like everything else in my life, I met someone a year later and married.  Well Don and I use to walk a lot in our early years of our marriage.  We use to go on vacations and walk 30 or 40 blocks in New York City.  So we could eat, and exercise.  This was a good start.  I thought – I’ll never gain back my weight!  Don and I will continue on this path.  Well as things would have it.  We both gained weight and have yo-yo a few times.

So after all these years, I felt good in the water.  I could sit back and be on that pity potty again.  I could hate myself for gaining back weight and even more weight.  I could get discouraged too.  I realize I would have a legitimate gripe with myself, but what would it get me.  What would it accomplish.  Not much other then to make me sad and depressed and sit back longer and do nothing.

So today – I have decided to go back to swimming and doing exercise.    May God give me the courage to continue on the right path.

Hebrews 4:16
Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

 

One thought on “Swimming

  1. Can I just say what a aid to seek out somebody who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. Extra folks must learn this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre not more common because you definitely have the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

