Perfection

I want to be perfect!  I know I do!  When I got on the scale this morning… I wanted to have lost 8 lbs.  I know I wanted to be perfect this last week, but with my colonoscopy and my visit to Amana Colonies on Saturday – I really wasn’t perfect.  So I got on the scale this morning and I lost 2 lbs from last Tuesday.  Celebration – yes – it was a lost – and it should be celebrated.  But why do I feel like I was less then perfect and dismissal results is 2 lbs to me!

Because ladies and gentlemen too… we all want to be perfect.  We want to have the perfect everthing.

I am beginning a study tonight called – Healthy Body, Healthy Spirit.  It talks about one women’s suicidal thoughts regarding her imperfection.

“In October 2003 a female student wrote an anonymous column for the Duke University student newspaper, hinting that Duke’s expectations of “effortless perfection” from women in the campus community had driven her to the brink of suicide. Too scared to discuss her sense of failure with anyone, she hoped the newspaper would break its policy against anonymous articles and print her cry for help. Editors agreed, and “effortless perfection” became the campus watchword, spawning numerous letters to the editor, lectures, forums, and initiatives aimed at easing stress on women’s bodies and minds.”

 As we move through are young twenties and into our 30s, 40s and 50s – we seem to look at life so differently, but do we really.  Today when I got on the scale… I wanted to see perfection, but being human I can never obtain that without Christ in my life.

 

 Read Genesis 2:4–7 and 20–25, Psalm 139:13–14, Luke 8:43–48, and 1 Corinthians 15:39–46. These verses show God to be intimately involved in every phase of our physical existence.

 

 

Here I am in August with my son, Steven.  Great picture, but I am about 15 lbs heavier then I am now.

I hope with God’s help I can continue on the path to health.  Imperfection yes… but in God’s eyes I am a child of his.  Amen

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

