Week 1 – Day 4 My Heart’s Longing

Week 1 Day 4  My Heart’s Longing

Focus:  Deepening my relationship with my Father by pouring my heart out to him.

 

Scripture:  Ask God to speak to your heart as you read 1 Samuel 1:1-17.

 

Unfulfilled Longings

 

Hannah experienced the heart-wrenching turbulence of a longing unfulfilled.  In the Hebrew society, for a wife to have no children was a terrible trial.  She not only felt lonely and unfulfilled as a woman, but she also carried the burden of feeling she had displeased God.  Since children were viewed as gifts from God, Hannah experienced a deep sense of guilt as well as reproach of others.

 

Perhaps you are experiencing or have experienced a longing so intense it totally consumes your every thought.  Check the sentences which most accurately describe how you feel now or felt in the past.

 

o   I can’t seem to think about anything else

 

o   My life seems robbed of joy

 

o   I’ve poured my heart out to God, and He doesn’t seem to hear me.

 

o   I don’t know what I will do if….

 

o   Nothing else seems to matter to me except….

 

o   I keep trying to read the Bible and pray, but I still feel unfulfilled.

 

Often grief and self-absorption can lead to physical and emotional manifestation.  Underline any you’ve experienced.

 

Loss of sleep                      physical aches and pains                               lack of energy

 

Loss of joy                           inability to concentrate                                                 extreme weariness

 

Restlessness                      lack of desire                                                     other ____________

 

God Knows the Longing of Your Heart

 

I have listened as many women have poured out their heartaches to our loving God.  The longings are as varied as the women themselves.  While some women long for children, others long for Christian husbands.  Some yearn to serve God in ministry, others are preoccupied with desires for their children.  Whatever the deep desire of your life at this time, be assured that God knows, He understands, and He longs to be the answer to your need.  The words of Jesus recorded in John 10:10 belong to you

 

If the long of your heart was satisfied at this moment, which of the following would you experience?  Circle all that apply

 

Joy                                         freedom from worry                      fulfillment

 

Calmness                             emotional stability                           peace purpose in living

 

Energy                                  confidence                                         frustration

 

Feelings of usefulness   other __________

 

Do you believe you have a loving Father who knows your needs and wants you to experience these things?    Yes  or No   Explain your response.

 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

“In bitterness of soul Hannah wept much and prayed to the Lord” (1 Sam. 1:10).  If you identify with Hannah in the intensity of her longing, then you most likely identify with her bitterness.

 

Circumstances in life can lead us to bitterness and may even cause us to question God’s love for us.

 

Such are the thoughts God wants us to bring to Him.  He longs for us to pour out our sorrow, our bitterness, our heartbreak to Him, so He can comfort us and ultimately give us the desires of our hearts.

 

Pause now and pour your heart out to your Heavenly Father who loves you and desires to fill you with His love.  His joy, and His peace.  Don’t be afraid to say everything that’s in your heart.  He already knows your struggles, but He wants you to lift your inner self to Him

 

Instead of allowing her distress to get the best of her, Hannah took her sorrow to the Lord.  Prayer is the only way to gain strength to overcome both your emotions and your circumstances.

 

What God Gives in Return

 

When I continue to run to Him with my burdens, my focus gradually shifts from my burden to my God.

 

God always answers prayers.  “I call on the Lord in my distress, and he answers me” (Psalm 120:1).  His answer may not be your way or your timing, but He always answers.  Are you willing to offer Him the longing of your heart, so He may bring you closer into His love and meet your deepest need?  Are you willing to allow Him to give you what He knows is best for your life?

 

This process will not happen overnight but will gradually grow as you spend time with Him, pouring out your heart and trusting Him to give you His best.

 

What is God revealing to you today?

 

As you close today’s study – start your prayer time with this prayer:

 

Dear Father, I long to experience Your deep love in my life.  Help me turn my deepest longings over to You.  Show me how to trust You to meet the needs of my heart.  Thank You for always answer my prayers and Thank You for giving me Yourself.  I love You.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

