Commitment and Act of Dedication to God

I must share my experience last night on the train.  The train was very crowded, standing room only.  I felt a tug on my shirt and it was a young man who asked me if I wanted to sit down.  I said, that was very nice, but I’ll wait until the train thins out.  The next stop their was a seat next to him, so I sat down.  He had a canvas painting of a African American women with a man’s hand reaching to her.  I told him that it was very beautiful.  He explained to me that it was his hand reaching to the Holy Spirit in heaven.    It was a beautiful painting and we talked about belief in God and after life.  I told him I was looking forward to heaven.   He said like a prophet that life was going to get better soon.  Not sure if that was about this life or the eternal life.    He got off at the next stop and said, she you later beautiful lady.   I chuckled at the last comment, but made my day young man.

I may not have the beliefs this young man has of the Holy Spirit, but I do believe in the Holy Spirit, I experience the Holy Spirit each time I am blogging or reading the word or speaking on the radio.  I experience the Holy Spirit because it resides in me.  It isn’t a matter of reaching to the sky for it to come over me.  That is a belief of the Old Testament.  Prophets of old only had the spirit come over them – not reside in them.  We have a much better covenant then the Prophets of old.    I guess we could illustrate the Holy Spirit as something we reach for, but I think it is even closer and more awesome then that.  When the Holy Spirit is right here in me, it works and acts as needed.

I am glad for the experience yesterday, because it makes me realize that I don’t have to call upon the Holy Spirit to come upon me, but knowing it resides in me is much better.

The commitment to God is an act and with the help of the Holy Spirit it is made easier.  Let’s look at 3 versions of the memory verse.

James 1:3 World English Bible

knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.

James 1:3   New King James Version

knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience.

I really love The Message – James 1:3

Faith Under Pressure

2-4 Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.

We can ask God to relieve us of our pressures, but everything we endure makes us stronger.  I thank God for my many challenges and life trials, for it has made me a stronger and mature faith servant.  Praise God.

Daily we need to act and recommitment ourselves to God and truly use action to serve Him.  It could take perseverance, but you are not alone.  Holy Spirit dwells with us for that very reason.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

