Beautiful People

worlds-most-beautiful-people-2010-04

Beautiful People – we all look and we all want to be just like them.

My obsession with food also has tied to it… the obsession of how I look.   Now over the years I have devoted less and less time on how I look, I still desire to hear the words “You look Good”, or “That dress looks nice on you.”

But not like over 1/2 the US population, I do little to transform myself each day with makeup and hair styles.  What you see is what you get, but it gives me freedom to sleep longer and worry less about what others think of me.

Now I am not saying people shouldn’t try and put their best face on, but if it is taking hours each day to get ready for work and an hour or so to get ready to go to bed, that is a lot of hours you could be doing something else.

I love the scripture that Paul uses in 2 Corinthians 3:18 “We all, with unveiled faces, are looking as in a mirror at the glory of the Lord and are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory.

As Kyle’s book says – we may still care about our appearance, but we define it differently.  “God is our standard and we live to be transformed more into his image.  That’s how we define true beauty.”

I am worrying less about my looks, then the message I show throughout my day as a Christian.  I define myself as a Christian  – then I spend more time thinking about my actions then how I look to people.

Amen.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful People

  1. Amen! Very well written. I, too, have been observing the same sentiments about the time it takes to get completely decked out, then to spend even more time undoing it all in the evenings to prevent wrinkles and pimples! Thank you for your wonderful insight.
    ♥️Greta

    Like

  2. Greta – thanks for your post. As I find more time to be with God these days – my struggles and trials are easier to bare. I believe I am beautiful even as I age into my late 50’s. I don’ spend a great deal of time worrying about it. God is my savior and things like beauty are fleeting, but my heart is not. Miriam was a leader among the Israelite women, at 90 she led them in song. I want to be Miriam – a leader among women and used to convey God’s message to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

