Day 10 – Prepare Me to Be a True Worshiper – blogging on Stormie Omartian’s book – Power of a Praying Woman

I have not been blogging – because her book on Power of a Praying Woman has been convicting.  It also has me rethinking my struggle with my little gods from Kyle’s book ‘gods at war.”

We find so much strength and power in God’s name, but why do we not seek it!  Why do we try to go on our own and struggle with life without his power.  It is amazing to me, but as I read Exodus I see God’s people who were brought out of Egypt turn to idols and even take all their gold and make it into a Calf.  I guess something we can see and worship.  Crazy isn’t it.

On the bus I try to read a chapter a day of Stormie’s book and for a few days it was really hard to get through.  Today’s chapter was about worship.   Some days I am about to just quit reading then she has a chapter like this.   I love worship and I love God – so when she talks about hearing and praising God all day, she considers it a Spiritual IV.  “As long as I had my heart and eyes lifted to God in worship and praise, the joy of the Lord poured into my body, mind soul, and spirit  and crowded out the darkness and depression.”

I am with Stormie – I love to hear praises to God and I love to sing my own songs.   Psalm 147:1 – Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God; for it is pleasant, and praise is beautiful.”

As we replace things of this world with God and his word – we sing more to the Lord, we are lifted “rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

Amen.

Leave a Reply

