Setting Dates

Never set times. No one know how long or short a person has to live. Many cases have had turned for the good, or have gotten worse. No one knows for certainty when one is going to die.

I remember everyone was called home for my mother, because she was in a coma and wasn’t expected to wake up.   So my Aunt and Uncle came home from Colorado and my brother and I flew in.  I had my 2 boys, 3 years old at the time.  Crazy trying to take them on a plane and end up in Clinton, Iowa.  We all went to and from the hospital using my mom’s house as a central point.  One day after visiting and seeing no responses from my mother, I went back to the house to take care of the boys.

Then within a short time, my sister’s returned to say – Mom is coming home today. She was out of her coma and all was well. Well enough to come home that very day. She was not well, she had terrible diabetes and her cancer was spreading through her body. Yet we had a glimmer of hope, yet everyone was preparing for my mom’s death, and when my aunt and uncle arrived they were confused to find her acting like her old self.  Most of that was because of Steroids, they put her on.  The tumors were not pressing on her brain and she was very coherent.    Now we had to prepare for my mother’s future.  She was terminal, but no one knew how long.

I had to go back to Virginia and so we all decided to put her in a nursing home.  I know she didn’t want to go, but what could we do.  I remember the last day I saw her.  She was off the steroids and talking crazy again, but within all the crazy stories of cows in trees and looking outside to snow – that wasn’t there.  She said she would not see me again.  I didn’t know for a fact that was true, but now I do know she must have known.  Even in between those times we talked on the phone she would have good days and bad days.  She would talk about getting her hair done and talking with my sisters.   It seemed she was doing well and then she was gone.

This is an example how one day we prepare for death and end up with months of someone still being with us. We have to care for them to the very end.

Deuteronomy 31:6,8 “Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble…, for the Lord your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you…. And the Lord is the one who goes ahead of you…. Do not fear, or be dismayed.”

 

One thought on “Setting Dates

  1. “Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”

    James 4:14

    And I really enjoy your posts Cathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

