The Broad Road and the Narrow Gate

The Broad Road and the Narrow Gate

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

Matthew 7:13-14

I find that I am often confused when I listen to or read modern day attitudes and notions, and maybe the reason for this is that they are… well, confusing.

Yet I was a curious child and an observant youth; as a child I suspected they really didn’t mean it, and as a youth I came to recognize that it was all a complete and total lie. As an adult, I shrug my shoulders; there is nothing more hilarious than a politician talking about free and open discussion while following the “party line”.

Can you think of anything that is more politically incorrect that openly being a Christian and a follower of Jesus Christ?

Maybe you can, but I can’t.

Yet how many times have I been told that being a Christian is “narrow-minded”?

I never really kept a tally, but I sure would like to have a dollar for each one…

That broad road that Jesus mentioned in verse 13…?

It’s a damnable lie.

The narrow gate?

So, all I can say is go ahead and call me a narrow-minded… or close-minded fool if you like, Mr. Politically Correct; I’ll take that as a sign that I’m on the right track… as you check your latest policy memo to be sure you are pulling the latest party line.

One thought on “The Broad Road and the Narrow Gate

  1. Lost people act like lost people. Why be surprised? Or disgusted? Or angry? Just be sad for them, kind to them, intercede for them, don’t let them change the Jesus-attitude in you… preaching to the choir, I know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

