Purity of Heart

It would be difficult for me to share this normally, but I am going to because I think it is important for us to realize that anyone can fall. When my first marriage was in shambles I started getting into chat rooms and in the process, I did questionable things online. This was the early chat rooms, where you developed relationships with people you didn’t even know. This was the straw that broke the camels back… and my marriage was over. Now on many levels it probably wasn’t going to last anyway, but this didn’t help our relationship.

God wants us to be masters of what we choose to look at. God doesn’t want us to do things that are questionable and non-pure. It took me some time to realize this was not beneficial for me and until I actually started dating Don – I didn’t realize how much it drew me away from God. I was sinning and didn’t even think about it.

Jesus says in Matthew 5:28 – “Everyone who looks at a woman with lust has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Wow this is more radical teaching. This is an adultery in our hearts.

Author says, some things we look at are helpful and others are not. Having custody of the eyes means to exercise self-control. Images are powerful. For me the best thing is to stay away from certain things, take custody of your eyes and it will lead you to a path of spiritual growth.

Thank you Jesus for your sacrifice on the cross, without it my sins would not be watched away. Amen

Point to Ponder: Avert your eyes form anything that can pollute your soul.

Verse to Live: The eyes is the lamp of the body. So, if your eyes is sound your whole body will be full of light. Matthew 6:22

Question to consider: If you learn to control what you look at, how deep will the peace within you be? (For me tremendous) Praise God.

Leave a Reply

