Beyond Tweaking

God has something more for us then just a simple adjustment of tweaking, he wants to transform us.

Why do we (I mean me too) spend less and less time reading the Bible. We will buy a self-help book and do all the things around a problem, but not read the Bible or seek God to transform us.

One reason we are an impatient society. It takes patience to read the Bible and I know from experience, it takes time to see how it harmonies. The Bible shows us the heart of God. It takes time.

Good example. I would like to be 150 lbs. I would really like to be 150 lbs, but I do little to transform myself to that goal. I have idealistic enthusiasm to start a new program or go full hull to start exercising, but after just a few days or hours…. I am turning back to my old ways of eating and living. It takes time and I have to be diligent and move pass my selfish desires to eat or drink what I want.

God wants us to be transformed by his word and he wants to change us, but we are not always willing to do what it takes, we are not selfless, but selfish.

Author states this prayer:

Read through it a couple of times.

Loving Father,
Here I am.
I trust that you have an incredible plan for me.
Transform me. Transform my life.
Everything is on the table. (little scary isn’t it)
Take what you want to take and give what you want to give.
Transform me into the person you created me to be.
so I can live the life you envision for me.
I hold nothing back; (scary again)
I am 100 percent available.
How can I help?
Amen.

Read it slowly and believe it and work it.
This is really a prayer God wants us to pray and that he will answer. When we want what God wants it is easy to have him answer those prayers. We need not pray for selfish vain and futile things that are our will not Gods.

So no more tweaking, real transformation.

Point to Ponder: The butterfly emerges from the cocoon; it is a beautiful transformation.

Verse to Live: “So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passes away; see everything has become new!” 2 Corinthians 5:17

Question to consider or comment on: What will be the hardest thing about letting God transform you and your life? For me it is self… getting out of his way.

Prayer: Jesus, keep the desire for transformation alive in our hearts.

One thought on “Beyond Tweaking

Leave a Reply

