An Hour of Power

Matthew 26:40 – Jesus went to pray in the garden of Gethsemane and he asked the disciples to watch with him. He went a short distance away to pray and they fell asleep. “Could you not stay awake with me one hour?” Jesus said to them.

He didn’t want to be alone. So human. You know the Gospels give us glimpses into his humanity, but only a few. We don’t really know what his sense of humor was like or what he hoped and feared. Jesus’ divinity is awesome, but his humanity is just as awesome.

Today is the last day of our 40 day challenge to Rediscover Jesus. IN the next few days find a empty church and sit with Jesus for an hour. Don’t place great plans or expectations on the hour, but just sit with him. Just be with Him in your silence.

It may be difficult, but relax. Draw back from the world. The author says “like atomic energy: a contraction that produces an expansion.” God wants you to live in his power.

Say this prayer during the hour:
“I am the son/daughter of a great king. He is my father and my God. The word may praise me or criticize me. It matters not. He is with me, always at my side, guiding and protecting me. I do not fear because I am his.”

Say it out loud, say it with pride. Post it on your wall or on your Facebook page. Look at it and be reminded each day. Amen.

I pray that each and everyone of us gets inspired by the power that lives in us, Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

