Pendulum of Our Emotions

We really want our emotions not to go to extremes. We want it to be gently moving in the middle and staying rather calm in the midst of turmoil.
 
Lysa talks about comfort zones. The interesting thing is that that comfort zone doesn’t have to be comfortable – just familiar. We stay in our unglued states because it is familiar. Not always a comfortable place to be.
 
I think that could be the reason we stop asking God to change us or even think he can. He wants us to be the best we can be to serve him. Don’t be afraid, ask God to change you – chisel you and see the power of God transform.
 
Lysa’s book talks about changed lives in a homeless shelter, and she finally realizes that God’s power is what transforms.
 
“I can be gentle, I can be patient. I can be peaceful. I’m not gentle by nature, but I can be gentle by obedience. I’m not patient by nature, but I can be by obedience. I’m not peaceful by nature, but I can be by obedience. I can and I will. I can be the unglued women made gentle, patient and peaceful. God help me. God forgive me.”
 
Amen.
Leave a Reply

